Torshavn » City Info » Visa Requirements

Do I need a visa for Torshavn, the Faroe Islands?

Citizens of Nordic countries (sovereign states of Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Iceland, and Greenland) are free to enter, stay and work in the Faroe Islands.

Citizens of other countries exempt from visas in the Schengen Area may also visit the Faroe Islands without a visa. The Faroe Islands are not part of the Schengen Area or the European Union, so citizens of Schengen countries and the European Union can not travel to the Faroe Islands without a visa. The visa to the Faroe Islands can be obtained from a Danish diplomatic mission or the Danish Immigration Service. The documents required for the visa are similar to the Schengen visa.

Citizens of the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand do not require a visa for a stay up to 90 days. To be in a safe position, travelling with six months validity on your passport is always beneficial.

Additional information:

Customs Regulations for travellers to and from the Faroe Islands:

A) Tobacco: 200 cigarettes; or 100 cigarillos or 50 cigars or 250g tobacco
B) Alcohol: 1 litre of spirits + 1 litre fortified wine (o3 2 litre table wine) + 2 litres beer
C) Perfume: 50ml
D) Eau de toilette: 50ml
E) Chocolate products: 3kg
F) Soda: 10 litres

For the latest and updated information, please visit the Customs Authorities website.

Please note:

The information contained on this website is for general information purposes only. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk. Please contact your nearest embassy for accurate, up-to-date information.